Medication Quick Search
My Medicine List Your Hospital Pharmacist Medication Tips and Tools

Gluten in Medication

As many as three million Americans may have celiac disease, an autoimmune disease that damages the small intestine and can cause a wide variety of serious health problems.

People with celiac disease must follow a lifelong gluten-free diet.  This means avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, and barley.

Medications can also contain gluten, which is used in some medications to bind pills together.

It is important for people with celiac disease to determine if their medication contains gluten.  Unfortunately, that isn’t easy because right now there are no requirements for sources of gluten to be listed on the medication label.

Resources for checking if your medication contains gluten:

  1. Contact the company that makes your drugs, or ask your pharmacist to do so.
  2. Glutenfreedrugs.com is a website maintained as a public service by a pharmacist at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.
  3. A Guide through the Medicine Cabinet is a book developed to provide people with special dietary requirements additional information about medications.

Click here for more information (PDF).